It has to be about the students

We read a story in class today, La Gran Aventura de Alejandro. While the story is okay, it is really lacking in personal involvement of the students. I keep asking myself, “How can I make it more personal so that they care? What can I do differently?” The truth is that I do not want to do this story because we just finished reading the Blaine Ray novel, El viaje de su vida. It was a good story, but the students were pretty ready to be done reading.

The reading is not about them and they really don’t care. I started out with a PQA, of which I am definitely a newbie. They seemed to be pretty interested and were listening to what the other students were saying, but it was not very deep. I need to be more personal with the questions, rather than just a time where I am drilling them. They need to feel like it is a conversation. I feel like I have so much to write, and not enough time. I will come back every now and then to add little snippets.

We went through the first chapter with me reading and translating as I went along. The students, in short, were bored and not following along. They really didn’t care and even when I talked to them in L2, they really do not understand me. There is such a wide level of students in the class. Some understand every word, while others don’t understand anything I say. We made it through the first chapter, but it was clear that they did not care.

What is worse is that the whole department is doing this story. In fact, if it were up to me, I would not even do it. I think that PMS’ or a mini story would be way better than learning this way. I am a big believer of reading and reading as a class. But is there a point where it is too much? A point where it needs to be more of a choice by them, meaning that they choose what they read, like FVR? I don’t know, but I am excited for the road that I am on. I have to remember to keep things in perspective.

I don’t know what it is, but I have such high expectations for these students. I know that they can do it. I am excited to get my own class where I can build the community from day 1.

Leave a comment

Filed under Teaching Discoveries

Leave a Reply

