The art of the method

Ben Slavic recently said this when talking about stories.

The art of the method, and the best stories, have their roots in loose soil, soil that is not compacted with hundreds of words and prescribed details.

Before he mentioned that teachers in the training wheels phase stick to the stories closely because they are still learning the method. This is where I am at now. I don’t want to be, but I am. It makes me think about how I learned to ride a bike.

When I first started to ride a bike, I had training wheels. But I couldn’t ride a bike. You see, I just learned how to ride a training wheels bike, but not the actual thing. For me, the training wheels didn’t help. I didn’t learn how to ride a bike until I just got on a bike. I couldn’t keep my balance at first and I kept falling over. Then, one day I realized that if I just kept pedaling I didn’t fall over. Eventually, I found my balance and felt the equilibrium. All of this of course happened with friends watching and encouragement.

I wonder if learning TPRS is similar for me. Do I just need to scrap the training wheels and go for it or is riding a bike different than TPRS? Whatever it may be, I want to get to the point where I am in loose soil. I know that this is the only place that TPRS can really take off. It is when the soil is loose and I let roots of the story move freely.

Leave a comment

Filed under Storytelling tips, Teaching Discoveries

Leave a Reply

