Freaking Out

I had a student freak out a little today when I told her that we are not taking notes in class. I knew that she was concerned because she was used to the old system of cramming in order to get a grade that doesn’t correctly reflect the actual acquisition. I know that she will be okay, but she was one of the students that had a tendency to space off in class. This is probably due to the fact that she is a visual learner and therefore needs to be taking notes.

Although I know that the class will be a challenge for her, I am not about to give up the aural acquisition that she needs. It will be an adjustment I will try to do everything I can to make sure that she is staying in-bounds. I know that if the students are in-bounds, they are acquiring the language.

Leave a comment

Filed under Teaching Discoveries

Leave a Reply

