Getting Excited

I must admit that for most of the summer I was questioning my ability in storytelling. As a result, I was not as excited as I wanted to be about starting in the fall. I don’t know what it was. I think that part of it is fear of not being good enough or perhaps being affraid that the students won’t buy in. Whatever it was, it has passed now — especially after seeing Jason Fritze at Fluency Fast.

That was the turning point for me. It showed me how fun the stories can really be and how creative the kids are. They will come up with stories that I never could have planned or even imagined. I am also looking forward to seeing the hearts of kids open and to see them come to life. What an amazing opportunity we have in storytelling. Not only is each day new, but each period is new! There is no telling what will happen next because, “todo es posible en la clase de español.” Right?!?

I am also excited about the things I am going to try this year that will make the storytelling more effective. I going to give PAT a try and see how it works. I am also going to try some other brain research activities as I go to see if it will freshen the brain to receive the input. I also think that it may aide in lowering the affective filter in order for the input to enter into the Language Acquisition Device.

To be honest, I don’t know what’s going to happen! That is part of the excitement for me and as school is getting closer, I think that I am getting more excited each day.

Leave a comment

Filed under Teaching Discoveries

Leave a Reply

