Are we exposing our students to what they need?

I have been reading a book by Frank Smith entitled, Reading FAQ. I am going to add it to my books list, but I thought I would give a brief excerpt here. I having been thinking about the idea that we need to totally revolutionize the way we view language acquisition. Traditionally, we have just given students lists of words for them to memorize and this needs to stop. What we need to do is to expose them to different contexts of words that they can understand and slowly they will start to grasp the meaning. They will begin to make sense of the print, which is what reading is.

On page 18, Frank Smith is discussing what happens when we read a word that we haven’t met before. He states:

By a process called “fast mapping,” children automatically attach a possible meaning to any unfamiliar word they encounter in speech or writing, and refine this possible meaning on further encounters. Six encounters is usually enough for a correct meaning the be determined. To determine the pronunciation, someone else must be heard saying the word.

Of course, none of these ways of identifying new words is possible if the words are in isolation, in lists, or any other kind of meaningless context. Expecting children to learn new words by presenting them one at a time makes reading as difficult as possible for them.

After I read this I started thinking about how often this happens in the classroom. I mean, most of a textbook is just lists of words that are not in a context. Are we really making it easy for a student to learn the language when we do this? I would say that we are not and that perhaps we need to think about language acquisition in a new way. Instead of lists we need to present words in different contexts so that the students can have the opportunity to experience words enough times to get a sense of the meaning. Meaning is not always something that can be defined, but a feeling. Most people  know when to use the preterite because of a feeling, not because of the rule.

Have we totally bought into the power of reading and what it can do for language acquisition? Or are we still stuck on the idea that the students need us or a textbook full of lists to learn a language. I think that if we really gave reading a shot, we may be surprised how much language could really be acquired. I know that I am not there yet, but that is where I want to go.

4 Comments

Filed under Reading, Teaching Discoveries

4 responses to “Are we exposing our students to what they need?

  1. ladyhecate

    I totally agree with your ideas. I use TPRS exclusively, but I find that I still rely on lists too much.

    • thomasyoung

      I know exactly what you mean. I think that TPRS really helps with getting words into a context, but there are some other things that only reading can really solidify in language acquisition. I keep wanting to do more reading and think of ways to expose students to repetitions of words in a meaningful context. Lists are just so nice and neat and it has been ingrained in us as teachers. I am excited to see where this may go, though.

      Thanks for the comment!

  2. Jim Tripp

    I have lately been pondering the utility/effectiveness of the word charts (which were great for ME last year) and am considering leaving them off the wall this year. Yes, they are great for OWI and Word Chunking games, but are they more of a distraction away from reading, which is indeed a more effective way to acquire language than memorization of isolated vocabulary? Come to think of it, if I’m not mistaken, I seldom saw words from the wall vocab chart used correctly, if at all, in free writes. Only the really bright students made appropriate use of the vocab on those wall charts (unless it was a word we hammered in stories/PQA, in which case I would see it from many students).

    • thomasyoung

      I appreciate your comment, Jim. Last semester I took away the wall charts as well as all the verbs on the wall and I discovered that the students learned the words better from not always looking at them. I felt like having them on the wall gave them an excuse to not learn the words and I thought it would remind me to put them in a context, but I never did.

Leave a Reply

