What was I thinking?!

Today, I had a story about a dog that was swimming in a fountain. To my surprise, I had students volunteer to be the dog. For most of the students this was great and I even had them on the floor [we have new carpet, by the way] swiming like Michael Phelps.

Well, my last period I had a girl voluteer to be the dog. This was her first time volunteering and what did I do? Did I play it safe and ease her in? Did I make it a safe experience so she will want to act again? Oh no. I had her on the floor swimming like all the other classes. After it happened, I realized what I had done and I wasn’t mad at myself, but I had the reaction of, “What was I thinking!? Wake up! You can’t do that to certain students. When are you going to learn that not everyone is as crazy as you are and ready jump in with two feet?”

Well, at least it was a learning experience for me and I hope that this student will want to act again. I think I am going to be a lot more careful about this stuff in the future. I have to be aware at all times of the students that I am dealing with and what will help them to feel safe  and valued in our class.

3 Comments

Filed under Storytelling tips

3 responses to “What was I thinking?!

  1. Jim Tripp

    Boy, I sure had a similar experience with a shy girl the other day. It started off rocking, as I was talking about how she went to Alaska with her family and “climbed” Denali. Then, a song popped into my head that I had learned at NTPRS 2008 “sube, sube, sube la montana…” and I thought I needed her to be the mountain climber. Then I put a had on her and had her climb up onto a desk while we sang. Fine and dandy, but then I left her up there while I started circling and asking more questions. Finally I realized she was still standing up there, probably embarrassed as hell. What was I thinking!!??

  2. Jim Tripp

    Oops. I put a “hat” on her.

Leave a Reply

